About University of Science and Technology Meghalaya


The University of Science & Technology Meghalaya (USTM) is the first State Private University of Science & Technology in the entire North East India—a University that has been awarded the accreditation rating of “A Grade” in its first cycle of assessment by the National Assessment and Accreditation Council in 2021. The University is only 10 year-old and is sponsored by the ERD Foundation, Guwahati. The University has been established in a picturesque landscape surrounded by tranquil greenery in Assam-Meghalaya border at Baridua, 9th mile, opposite to the CRPF Camp, Ri-Bhoi District of Meghalaya. It is about 85 km from Shillong, the Capital of Meghalaya & 6 km from Dispur, the capital of Assam. The campus is well connected by Rail & Air which is only 15 km away from Guwahati Railway Station & 30 km from Guwahati International Airport.

The University has been established under the provisions of the University of Science and Technology, Meghalaya Act (No.6 of 2008) enacted by the Legislative Assembly of Meghalaya and notified vide Gazette Notification No LL(B)87/2008/21, dated 02.12.2008 of Government of Meghalaya. USTM is empowered by the University Grants Commission, to award degrees as specified by the UGC under section 22 of the UGC Act, 1956. It has also received the necessary approval from AICTE, New Delhi; NCTE, ERC, Bhubaneswar, Pharmacy Council of India, BCI, New Delhi to run MBA, B.Ed., D. Pharm & B. Pharm, LLB (H) and BALLB (H) programmes respectively.

The University has been involved in fulfilling the aspirations of young minds by imparting quality education. Further, the University is involved in high-value research emphasizing required needs as well as in pursuing frontier areas of research innovation. Invention and entrepreneurship have remained the primary focus. The University is directing all its efforts to create the much-needed S &T manpower to foster relentlessly the economic and social development of the region in an inclusive manner.

USTM offers UG, PG courses & Ph.D. under its different schools viz.
  • School of Applied Sciences
  • School of Biological Sciences
  • School of Social Sciences & Humanities
  • School of Engineering & Technology
  • School of Business Sciences
  • Prof Qoumrul Hoque School of Education
  • School of Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • School of Allied Medical Sciences
  • University School of Law & Research
  • School of Language & Culture